Manchester events begin with Annual Clergy Luncheon

See more photos in the gallery at right

June 15, 2016

The Preachers’ Aid Society of New England hosted its annual Clergy Luncheon on Wednesday, June 15, – the day before the 2016 Annual Conference is set to begin.
The Preachers’ Aid Society takes this time to announce the Blaine and Lois Taylor Fellowship Award honorees and those being honored with the Lifetime of Discipleship Awards. (Learn more about these awards). The Taylor Fellowships are awarded to retired clergy; the Lifetime of Discipleship to laity.
This year’s Taylor Fellowship honorees are: Scott Campbell, Sharon Miesel, and John Neff.
Rev. Campbell will use the money to take his grandchildren to see the birthplace of their late mother, who was born in France and lived in Belgium as a child. Rev. Miesel plans to use the grant to go on an international mission trip and add a half bathroom to her home. Rev. Neff said he would like to use the grant to host a family reunion.
This year’s Lifetime of Discipleship honorees are both from Bangor, ME.
Anna McClosky, 98, is a member of Grace UMC. She was nominated by Northern Maine DS Pat MacHugh and her pastor, Gretchen Casey. In accepting the award on McCloskey’s behalf, Rev. MacHugh called her “an encourager” who’s had an impact on many clergy over the years.
David Swett, a member of First UMC in Bangor, was nominated by Norm Thombs for his 65 years as a staffer at Camp Mechuwana, where he is currently “wandering minstrel and storyteller.” Swett was unable to attend due to a recent root canal.
The lunch also celebrates clergy transitioning to retirement, those marking the 50th anniversary of their ordination, and those who will be ordained as elders at this Annual Conference session.
Society Executive Director Wes Palmer also took time to honor Cathy MacGovern, associate executive director, who is retiring this year after 25 years with Preachers’ Aid.
Rev. Palmer also asked New England churches to celebrate Retired Pastors Sunday, which has traditionally been celebrated on a Sunday near All Saints Day, but can be celebrated any time.
Rev. Palmer encouraged churches to make this “an all church event” by inviting a retired pastor to preach or speak to the youth group or confirmation class. The Preachers’ Aid Society has bulletin inserts available for celebrating this day intended to “Lift up the gifts and graces of retired pastors in our midst.”
Guests of the lunch were given copies of the book “Unfinished Business” a collection of sermons by past winners of the William C. Ziegler Award for Excellence in Preaching edited by William C. Coleman. This year’s Ziegler honoree will preach during morning worship on Saturday, June 18. The award is given by the New England Conference Board of Church and Society.
Clergy retiring in 2016:
Nancy Bischoff
Ellen Bridge
William Flug
Neil Gastonguay
Judith Gould
John Holt
William Humphrey
Arnold Johnson
Ruth Merriam
Larry Peacock
Janet Smith-Rushton
Wee-Li Tan
Jeffrey Thomas
Kathleen Towns
Garvin Warden
Dee Webber
Pat Williams
Dan Wilson
Ron Wilson
Edward Wimberly
Lawrence Wimmer
Those marking the 50th anniversary of their ordination:
Thomas J. Gallen
David Glusker
Donald B. McGaw
Carroll C. Moore
D. Kermit Norris
Harold E. Perkins
Robert E. Price
Stuart I. Price
Young Bok Rha
James A. Townley
The 2016 Ordinands:
Shinhyung Ahn
Sunmin Cho
Song Bok (Bob) Jon
Geisa Y. Matos-Machuca
Shandirai Kare Tendekai Mawokomatanda
Patricia Ruth Peña
Angela Lynn Rotherham