Delegation to the 2019 General Conference seeks input

Bishop Devadhar anoints members of the 2016 General Conference delegation during the 2015 Annual Conference. This delegation will represent New England at the 2019 special session of General Conference in February.

August 27, 2018

The New England delegation to the Special Session of General Conference is launching a listening period to hear how members of the New England Conference feel about the possible future of The United Methodist Church. The special session of General Conference will be Feb. 23-26, 2019 in St. Louis, MO.

At the end of this listening period, the delegation hopes to have a clearer understanding of the diverse feelings within the Conference.
This listening period will include three parts:
  • A Frequently Asked Questions document
  • Listening sessions
  • A summary document 

Frequently Asked Questions

An FAQ document will be created by late September based on questions collected from Conference members about the Special Session and proposed legislation. 
You can share your questions about the special session of General Conference, proposed legislation or the impact on your local church, district, or conference using the delegation’s
perspective portal.
The delegation invites you to share your perspectives so that they can be included in the FAQ. The deadline to submit comments has been extended, so there is still time to share your thoughts. 

Listening sessions

The delegation will host listening sessions across the Conference in late October and early November 2018 using the Courageous Conversations curriculum developed by General Board of Higher Education and Ministry (GBHEM). More information on the regional listening sessions is forthcoming. 

Summary document

The delegation will create a summary document of what has been heard and learned from the Conference to be released in late December 2018 or early January 2019.

Find a copy of the Way Forward Commission Report

New England Conference delegates to the 2019 special session of General Conference
Bonnie Marden
Ralph Odour
Rene Wilbur
Steve Dry
Oscar Harrell
Christy Wright
Bobbi Bragan
We Chang
Scott Campbell
Leigh Goodrich
David Abbott
Rene Perez
David Nicol
Becca Girrell