New England Conference scholarships awarded

July 03, 2015

The New England Conference Scholarship Committee has awarded $26,524 in scholarships to 59 students from The New England Conference for the 2015-16 academic year.

The students represent every state in the Conference. Conference scholarships are for adults or recent high school graduates who are pursuing an undergraduate education at any accredited two- or four-year college, university or technical school. They must be United Methodist Church members and are eligible to apply every year until they complete their undergraduate degree.

The members of the Conference Scholarship Committee are Rev. Stuart Price, Maine (retired); Trica Waldron, Vermont, and Paul Carlotto, Massachusetts.

See the list of scholarship winners

2015 Conference Merit Scholarship winner named

The 2015 New England Conference Merit Scholarship winner is Maggie McCoy. McCoy, 19, attends Syracuse University where she is on the pre-med track majoring in biology. She is a member of St. Albans-St. Pauls United Methodist Church in St. Albans, VT.

"I am so blessed to have received this scholarship from the New England Conference of The United Methodist Church,” McCoy said. “It will help me further my education and dreams."